Books, books, books!

The last couple of weeks have been super busy for An Anxious Scientist! The first guest blog by Heidi Gardner has been published and you can now read interviews with two keen scicommers from the world of Instagram, Soph talks science and @eat_sleep_pipette_repeat. It is so great to have people enthusiastic about what I am trying to do as well as being able to promote their amazing science and outreach too.

I am also in the process of getting a logo designed. I have seen a first draft and it looks fantastic, I’m so excited to see the finished product! It will soon be plastered all over everything so you definitely won’t miss it!

summerofstem

August is the first month that I have been involved in a monthly social media STEM ‘challenge’ – #summerofstem. The idea is to post an image every day using the prompts as guides, STEM or otherwise. Yesterday’s prompt was BOOK.  Books are the best and I absolutely love collecting them! My favourite ever book is Biology by Campbell and Reece. It’s a textbook so not for casual Sunday reading but my Biology teacher told me to buy it when I was doing my A Levels to find answers to the questions that I kept bothering her with! I also brought it up in my PhD interview to help describe what I wanted the position so much. I go back to this book every time I need a bit of motivation and this teacher is 100% my main science inspiration.

I have collected a few of my favourite images from the BOOK prompt to give you an idea of the sort of things that people are sharing and reading. It is so nice to use this STEM challenge get a brief insight into the lives of scientists across the world! I have included links to the accounts that they have come from so please check them out and see what else they’re up to!

 

Photo credits @likesummersnow, @microbiobac, @emmanigma_, @softoxidation, @heidirgardner, @theblondebiologist, @ldredhead, @the.girl.in.the.lab.

I am currently trying to decide which books to take away on holiday in a few weeks time so hit me up with your suggestions! Drop a comment here or get in touch on Twitter or Instagram!


Rebecca | An Anxious Scientist

 

 

Leave a Reply

